WIPPS announces new Board of Advisors Chair

WIPPS announces new Board of Advisors Chair

The Wisconsin Institute for Public Policy and Service (WIPPS) is excited to announce that Dave Anderson is the new chair of the WIPPS Board of Advisors. In addition to serving on the board, Anderson and is also a WIPPS senior policy fellow.

“I’ve really enjoyed my longtime association with WIPPS because the organization represents so much of what I believe,” Anderson said. “First and foremost, that it is possible to engage in positive civil discourse on difficult issues, and, second, that leaders with diverse views can work together to get things done effectively.”

Anderson’s professional career started with a position as a German teacher at Lakeland Union High School in Minocqua, where he was elected to the Onedia County Board of Supervisors and later as the chair for the Town of Hazelhurst.

He continued his dedication to public service by holding many positions in state government including director of the Governor’s Northern Office, director of Appointment for Governor Thompson, policy advisor and assistant deputy secretary at the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, and policy director for Governor Scott McCallum. Anderson retired as the assistant deputy secretary at the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development in 2018.

Anderson also served as deputy state director for U.S. Senator Robert W. Kasten, Jr., and district director for both Congressman Sean Duffy of Wausau and Congressman Tom Petri of Fond du Lac.

Speaking on the future of WIPPS, Anderson explained that “the collective experience of those serving on the Advisory Board positions WIPPS well to continue its commitment to its mission and implement programs that will improve the lives of people throughout Wisconsin.”

An active Rotarian since 1989, Anderson served as president of the Wausau Early Birds Rotary Club, district governor for Rotary District 6220 in 2022-2023, and is a charter member of the Wausau After Hours Rotary Club. He currently serves as a member of the Lakeland Union High School District Foundation Board, the Camp Five Museum Foundation, and the Circus world Museum Foundation.