We’re All About Being Enthused, Engaged, Involved

Common sense solutions on common ground

In a time of hot-button political issues that increasingly divide and distance people from one another, a group of civic-minded citizens decided to reclaim the mission of colleges and universities. In 2007, we launched the Wisconsin Institute for Public Policy and Service (WIPPS).

As part of the the University of Wisconsin System, our mission is to bring together those with differing views, listen civilly and find common ground to address the tough issues facing our country, our states and our communities. WIPPS is proud to support the David R. Obey Civic Resource Center, which is Wisconsin’s most important destination for understanding the past, present and future of public policy. Students and the public can learn about government, public policy and political decision-making from the Center’s expert staff, interactive exhibits, organized lecture series by national and state leaders, panel discussions and workshops, and civic forums tackling tough issues of the day.

Learn More About the Obey Center

Our Work Is Based On Two Core Ideas

Citizen-Centered Democracy

We support citizen-centered democracy. Today’s America depends on engaged, involved citizens and communities – making decisions about issues that matter to them. Sometimes it’s hard to understand complex policy issues. WIPPS aims to cut through the jargon, get to the meat of the matter and let people make their own, informed decisions.

The Wisconsin Idea

As part of the University of Wisconsin System, we recognize the Wisconsin Idea – “The resources of the university should be used to serve the interests and needs of the entire state.” We do this by providing resources, information and ideas to empower the people and communities of Wisconsin.

Meet Our Staff

  • Julie Bunczak
    Program Manager
    715-261-6234

    jbunczak@uwsa.edu
    Meet Julie

  • Eric Giordano
    Executive Director
    715-261-6388

    egiordano@uwsa.edu
    Meet Eric

  • John Greenwood
    Outreach Consultant
    715-261-6367

    jgreenwood@uwsa.edu
    Meet John

  • Sharon Hunter
    Program Manager
    715-261-6104

    shunter@uwsa.edu
    Meet Sharon

  • Olivia Rasmussen
    Research Assistant

    olrasmussen@wisc.edu
    Meet Olivia

  • Luke Rudolph
    Marketing Communications Coordinator
    715-212-0537

    lrudolph@uwsa.edu
    Meet Luke

  • TJ Ness
    IT Specialist

    ness.tj11@gmail.com
    Meet TJ

  • Katie Schramm
    IT Specialist

    schrammk89@gmail.com
    Meet Katie

  • Jensine Lee
    Intern

    jensine.lee@faithfulconsulting.com
    Meet Jensine

Hmong and Hispanic Community Outreach Network

  • Tony Gonzalez
    Hispanic Community Coordinator
    Meet Tony

  • Sheng Khang
    Hmong Community Coordinator
    Meet Sheng

  • Mang Xiong
    Hmong Community Coordinator
    Meet Mang

Hmong Liaisons

TZ Kha
Choua Khang
Hmongshee Khang
Sheng Khang
Chloe Lee
Chou Lee
Heather Yang
Phong Vang
See Xiong
Yeeleng Xiong

Hispanic Liaisons

Norma Castro
Laura Hernandez
Isis Vidal Ocana
Angelica Pacheco
Mariana Savela
Alejandro Vazquez

Board Of Advisors

Fellows